NOAH AOC

The Albinism Online Community
Welcome to NOAH AOC Sign in | Join | Help
in Search
Ad: Reoommend a Dr.

Albinism in girls

Last post 09-14-2003 12:00 AM by amitche1. 7 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (8 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 08-31-2003 12:00 AM

• BeccasMom
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on 08-31-2003
    • Posts 2
    • Points 115

Albinism in girls

I would love to hear from parents with girls diagnosed with albinism..and am curious to hear with what type of albinism your daughter was diagnosed with. I'm new at this ..I have 7 children and the last born was diagnosed with OA at 5 months of age...a girl nonetheless..from everything I've read online and researched this is not a common type of albinism in a girl...(none of my other children have albinism) please share what you know.]
    • Post Points: 110
  • 09-05-2003 12:00 AM In reply to

• Suzy
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on 04-08-2003
    • Posts 3
    • Points 45

Is it definitely OA?

I only ask b/c sometimes it actually is OCA, but the skin/hair symptoms are mild enough that it's not diagnosed. See my Sept 5 post -- my daughter has OCA.
    • Post Points: 5
  • 09-07-2003 12:00 AM In reply to

• Lmt00
    • Top 500 Contributor
    • Joined on 04-22-2002
    • Posts 27
    • Points 135

Re: Albinism in girls

Originally posted by Jessica_Trask:
    Beccas Mom,

There is a recessive gene for Ocular Albinism that does affect girls and boys equeally.

I myself have Ocular Albinism. I've not met an other girl, teenager or audlt with Ocular Albinism.

Jessica Trask
    vtmapleprincess@adelphia.net or
    Aim: JessicaTrask College students come join collegestudentswithalbinism
    http://groups.yahoo.com/group/collegestudentswithalbinism/
    I just recently started another group on yahoogroups. http://www.groups.yahoo.com/group/educatorswithandwithalbinism come join if you have any interest in this topic.

Jessica,