NOAH AOC

The Albinism Online Community
Welcome to NOAH AOC Sign in | Join | Help
in Search
Ad: Support NOAH Funding

Head Shaking

Last post 04-21-2012 12:53 AM by Roxanne. 34 replies.
Page 1 of 3 (35 items) 1 2 3 Next >
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 05-02-2007 7:30 PM

Head Shaking

I have been asked many times why my head is shaking while I am writing I have been told it moves from side to side as if to say no I am a Licensed Vocational Nurse. I was in a patient's room one day charting information about that patient. He looked at me and ask what was wrong, and , had his condition changed. I said "no" He said "then why are you shaking your head no?"It is really embarassing to me and I can't even feel when it is happening. Does anyone else have this problem?    

• Post Points: 230
  • 05-03-2007 1:47 PM In reply to

• moneypenny
    • Top 500 Contributor
    • Joined on 05-20-2003
    • Portland, Oregon
    • Posts 44
    • Points 590

Re: Head Shaking

Debra, I have had some problems with this too. When I was younger I did it a lot more. Every now and then I'll still catch myself doing it, usually when I'm either very tired or really concentrating on something; usually reading.  I won't even notice it, until my neck starts to get sore from my head moving back and forth in quick little movements.

I would take a very non-medically trained guess in saying that the head shaking is due to us trying to componsate for nystagmus.

I can understand why you would be concerned with it, particularily in your line of work. If anybody has any suggetions on how to improve the head shaking I would love to hear them too.

• Post Points: 5
  • 05-03-2007 5:17 PM In reply to

• Brian
    • Top 25 Contributor
    • Joined on 04-02-2002
    • Manchester England
    • Posts 451
    • Points 5,795

My head used to shake quite a lot in anti-phase to the wobble in my eyes. When my eyes went left my head went right - and vica versa.